Log in


CAGP/ CIHR-IA Trainee travel bursaries for the
2018 CAGP-CCSMH Annual Scientific Meeting! (Open)

The Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry (CAGP) and the Canadian Institute of Health Research – Institute of Aging (CIHR-IA) is pleased to offer eight (8) $500 travel bursaries for medical students, psychiatry residents, geriatric psychiatry subspecialty residents, and other residents with an interest in geriatric psychiatry to attend the CAGP-CCSMH 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting, October 12-13 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Deadline for Nominations is August 17, 2018.

Eligibility for the Annual Scientific Meeting Bursary:

  1. Must be a trainee enrolled in a Canadian medical school or residency program including Psychiatry, Geriatric Psychiatry or another specialty training program.
  2. Must be a member of the CAGP (MIT or AIT).
  3. Must be registered for the CAGP-CCSMH 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting. Preference will be given to those residents who are travelling to attend the conference.
  4. Preference will be given to individuals who have not won a travel bursary award in previous years. 
  5. Preference will be given to individuals who have not won a 2018 CAGP award. (Depending on the number of applications received, award winners may be considered.)

To apply for the bursary please forward a letter detailing the name of your training program (university and specialty), your year of training, your interest in geriatric psychiatry and your reason for attending the CAGP-CCSMH Annual Scientific Meeting (maximum 250 words).

Letters are to be forwarded electronically by Friday August 17th, 2018 to

The successful applicants will be notified by Friday August 31st, 2018.

Early bird ASM registration closes September 12th, 2018. 


Paul Blackburn, MD, FRCPC

Chair, Education Committee: Students and Trainees

Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Stay updated about the ASM and Pre-Conference Course on social media by following @CAGPsych on Twitter, and CAGP on Facebook. 
Join the conversation using #CAGPCCSMH2018! 


The nominee must meet some or all of the qualities outlined below.

  • Leadership

The nominee has:

  • Demonstrated leadership, both within his/her own organization and elsewhere in the field of geriatric mental health. Leadership may include local, national and international influence. It may have occurred in the CanMED areas of Medcial Expert, Manager and/or Health Advocate.  Leadership within Canada will be given the greatest weight.
  • A proven ability in innovative problem-solving and decision-making.
  • Exhibits high ethical standards and integrity in all aspects of their work
  • Demonstrated a commitment to patient/older adult advocacy in the public policy field
  • Professionalism
The nominee has demonstrated significant accomplishment in:
  • educational and scholastic activities designed to add to the body of knowledge in the field of geriatric mental health care
  • support to professional organizations dedicated to improving the lives of older adults affected with mental health problems and illnesses
  • being a role model and motivates/mentors others in the pursuit of excellence with research, education or clinical care in the area of geriatric psychiatry ,capacity for care and compassion to clients, colleagues and students alike
Applicants Requirement
The nomination must include the following:
  • A written statement by the nominator concerning the merit of the individual’s contribution with regards to the above-mentioned qualities in sufficient detail to allow assessment by the Selection Committee.
  • The applicant’s curriculum vitae
  • The applicant is a member of the CAGP


  • Dr. Keri-Leigh Cassidy (2016)
  • Dr. Paule Hottin (2015)
  • Dr. Mark Rapoport (2014) 
  • Dr. Catherine Shea (2013)
  • Dr. Melissa Andrew (2013) 
  • Dr. Kiran Rabheru (2012)
  • Dr. Martin G. Cole (2011) 
  • Dr. Nathan Herrmann - Toronto, ON (2010)
  • Dr. Martha Donnelly - Vancouver, BC (2009) 
  • Dr. Kenneth Shulman - Toronto, ON (2008)
  • Dr. Lilian Thorpe - Saskatoon, SK (2007) 
  • Dr. Joel Sadavoy - Toronto, Ontario (2006)
  • Dr. David Conn - Toronto, Ontario (2005) 
  • Dr. Ken LeClair - Kingston, Ontario (2004)
  • Dr. Marie-France Tourigny-Rivard - Ottawa, Ontario (2003)

PLEASE NOTE: The CAGP cannot provide patients with the names of physicians providing care to patients. The Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons in most Canadian provinces and territories maintain a website for patients to find a physician by specialty. A list of these governing bodies is available on the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada’s website.

20 Crown Steel Drive, Unit 6, Markham, ON  L3R 9X9
TEL: (289) 846-5383 |1-855-415-3917  
FAX: (905) 415-0071 |

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software