Log in


CAGP GERIATRIC PSYCHIATRY sub-specialty resident AWARD (open)

The Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry is offering four awards of $1250, to residents accepted into a Canadian Geriatric Psychiatry sub-specialty program to support the development and completion of a scholarly project during their training.

Application Due: Friday May 24, 2019

Please submit your completed application package electronically to, with all sections clearly marked to CAGP Awards Committee.


The purpose of this award is to support the development and completion of the advanced level academic project described in the Specialty Training Requirements for Geriatric Psychiatry (STR) of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. This academic project may be in the area of research, education, service development and/or advocacy as it pertains to Geriatric Psychiatry and related CanMEDs roles.

This award helps to offset the costs of attending the CAGP’s Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM). The successful applicant is encouraged to attend the 2019 ASM where their name will be announced, but is expected to attend in 2020 when they will present on their findings. The recipient will formally receive their award at the 2019 meeting to be held in Banff, Alberta, October 25 – 26, 2019 and are expected to give a short presentation on their project at the 2020 meeting.

The monetary award will be given out in one installment in 2019.
Applicant Requirements

Applicants must be in either PGY4, PGY5 or PGY6, and be accepted or currently enrolled in an accredited Canadian Geriatric Psychiatry sub-specialty program. The successful applicants will be undertaking their geriatric psychiatry sub-specialty training at the time the award is presented, which will be at the 2019 CAGP-CCSMH Annual Scientific Meeting in Banff, Alberta, October 25 – 26, 2019.

The applicant will be expected to present their project at the CAGP Annual Scientific Meeting in 2020.

Applicants must be current CAGP Members-In-Training. Membership is FREE to all residents currently enrolled in a geriatric psychiatry sub-specialty program. Click here for details on membership.


The application should include:
  1. A description of the proposed academic project
  2. Other sources of financial support.
  3. A letter indicating their reasons for pursuing sub-specialty training in Geriatric Psychiatry.
  4. Letters of support from supervising faculty (who is a CAGP member) indicating recommendation and commitment to facilitate the proposed project.
  5. Applicant’s curriculum vitae with current contact information.
  6. Letter confirming the applicant’s stage of training and FRCPC eligibility from their current Psychiatry Program Director
  7. Letter from Sub-Specialty Program Director OR Psychiatry Program Director confirming acceptance or current enrollment in a Canadian sub-specialty training program in geriatric psychiatry for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The Awards Committee of the CAGP will review all applications. They will be judged based on merit.

Application Due: Friday May 24, 2019

Please submit your completed application package electronically to, with all sections clearly marked to CAGP Awards Committee.

If you have any questions please contact us.

CAGP Geriatric Psychiatry sub-specialty resident Award 

  • Dr. Michael Tau (2018)
  • Dr. Jeanne Sansfacon (2018)
  • Dr. Elyse Ross (2018)
  • Dr. Catherine Cheng (2018)
  • Dr. Selim Asmer (2017)
  • Dr. Daljit Bhangoo (2017)
  • Dr. Sarab Preet Dosanjh (2017)
  • Dr. Vanessa Thoo (2016)
  • Dr. Simon Woo (2016)
  • Dr. Kathleen Bingham, University of Toronto (2015)
  • Dr. Nadeesha Fernando, University of British Columbia (2014)
  • Dr. Holly Dornan, University of Ottawa (2013)

Past CAGP Fellowship Award Recipients

  • Dr. Jennifer Brault, University of Ottawa (2012)
  • Dr. Andrea Iaboni, University of Toronto (2011)
  • Dr Tegan Sacevich, University of Manitoba (2010)
  • Dr. Jenny Rogers, University of British Columbia (2009)
  • Dr. Daniel Blumberger, University of Toronto (2008)
  • Dr. Dallas Seitz, University of Toronto (2008)
  • Dr. Peter Giacobbe, University of Toronto (2006)
  • Dr. Mark Bosma, Dalhousie University (2005)
  • Dr. Sara Thompson, University of Toronto (2005)
  • Dr. Cheryl Murphy Dalhousie University (2004)
  • Dr. Laura McCabe University of Toronto (2004)

Lilly Fellowship Awards

  • Dr. Supurna Madam University of Calgary (2003)
  • Dr. Jeannie Ferguson Dalhousie University (2002)
  • Dr. Mark Rapoport University of Toronto (2001)

Connect with Us!

PLEASE NOTE: The CAGP cannot provide patients with the names of physicians providing care to patients. The Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons in most Canadian provinces and territories maintain a website for patients to find a physician by specialty. A list of these governing bodies is available on the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada’s website.

20 Crown Steel Drive, Unit 6, Markham, ON  L3R 9X9
TEL: (289) 846-5383 |1-855-415-3917  
FAX: (905) 415-0071 |

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software